Why Being a College Counselor didn’t Make my Son’s College Search any Easier

If you know me personally, then you know that while I have been working with the most recent high school graduating class, I have also been working with my own son (my second child) on his college search. While my daughter knew in September of her senior year that she had gotten in to the school she ultimately chose to attend, my son’s process was a lot more complicated.

He is a runner and was determined to get a Division 1 running slot. And not just any Division 1 running slot. My son had his mind set on a handful of schools that met a set of very personal criteria that he had for himself. We began talking to coaches during his junior year and even had a few unofficial visits that year.

Senior year came with high expectations. And then he struggled with fueling issues, followed by acute bronchitis during his cross country season, which ended far below the goals he had set for himself. Track season brought a more healthy period, but not the times he had hoped to hit. It happens.

His admission acceptances began to come in, and he continued to talk to coaches, but nothing was set in stone. Other kids were signing Letters of Intent, and non athletes were accepting and signing up for housing. May 1st came along and he still did not have a commitment from a coach, so he had no definitive decision on where he would attend. I posted pictures of a number of my clients in their college t-shirts, but my own son did not wear a college t-shirt to the designated college shirt day at his high school. He did not meet up with his elementary school classmates in their college shirts at their old school the day before graduation. And I did not buy the personalized college banner that our high school displays around the football field at graduation.

Through all of this, my son never showed his stress and I tried not to show mine. And then this week, it finally happened. He accepted a formal offer to run cross country and track at The Ohio State University. He’s happy, so I’m happy.

I tell you all this as an illustration that finding the right college is not always a straight line process. Sometimes, a student will apply to a school, get in, go visit for a weekend and come home knowing it is “the place,” like my daughter. And sometimes, you won’t know until June where your student is going. Some kids go to orientation and come home knowing it is not the right fit. Some kids go to a college for a semester or a year and want to transfer. Or have some personal issues that cause them to need some time off. Some kids change their minds about a major and have to transfer in order to achieve their goals. Things don’t always end up the way you think they will, and it’s ALL OKAY. Each student has his or her own unique path and hopefully, with our support, they will all find their way.

As for us, I now have a Hawkeye and a Buckeye, and my third child now thinks he needs to find another “eye” school!

Leave a comment